Daily Tax Update - September 6, 2016: Ways and Means Announces Oversight Subcommittee Hearing on Tax-Exempt Endowments in Higher Education

Ways and Means Announces Oversight Subcommittee Hearing on Tax-Exempt Endowments in Higher Education:  House Ways and Means Oversight Subcommittee Chairman Peter Roskam (R-IL) announced today that the Subcommittee will hold a hearing on the endowments of tax-exempt colleges and universities. 

Topics are expected to include the rapid increase in tuition cost for higher education and how some institutions are using their tax-exempt endowments to fulfill charitable purposes and reduce costs for students.

The hearing will be conducted on Tuesday, September 13.

IRS Announces Appointment of New Members to the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee:  Today, the IRS announced the appointment of 16 new members to the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee (ETAAC).  Established in 1998, the ETAAC provides a public forum for the discussion of electronic tax administration issues, including the prevention of identity theft and refund fraud.  The new committee members are:

  • John Ams, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, the National Society of Accountants 
  • Robert Barr, Global Managing Director, Accenture
  • Shannon Bond, VP and General Manager of Commercial Services, Wolters Kluwer CCH
  • John Craig, a non-profit consultant specializing in strategy and technical support, Volunteer Income Tax Assistance programs
  • Jacob Dubreuil, Consulting Manager, Revenue Solutions, Inc.
  • Thomas Lorek, Deputy Chief Information Officer, Indiana Department of Revenue
  • Julie Magee, Alabama Revenue Commissioner
  • Demesia Padilla, Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department
  • Kathy Pickering, Executive Director, The Tax Institute (TTI); and Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, H&R Block
  • Phillip Poirier, Consultant, the Center for Enterprise Development; and Senior Fellow, Center for Social Development at Washington University 
  • John Sapp, Vice President of Strategic Development, Drake Software
  • Deborah Sawyer, Personal Trust Administrator and Tax Advisor, H&R Block
  • Joseph Sica, Chief Public Policy Officer, Green Dot/Tax Products Group
  • Mark Steber, Chief Tax Officer, Jackson Hewitt Tax Service
  • Atilla Taluy, founder, FileYourTaxes.com
  • Doreen Warren, Public Information Director, Idaho State Tax Commission

The IRS is seeking additional nominations for new members through September 19.